Congratulations to the 2019 Summer Award Winners. 

SWS is pleased to recognize many forms of outstanding feminist work. The following awards and scholarships are presented at our Awards Banquet during the Summer Meeting, held each August, with the exception of the Undergraduate Social Action Award which is presented at the Winter

The Awards Committee is comprised of an elected chair, two elected members (who chair the Feminist Activism and Feminist Lecturer committees), and the chairs of each other award committee, listed below. Beginning with the 2019 Election, the Awards Committee will have three elected members, the 3rd member will chair the feminist mentoring committee.

Awards Committee Chair:

Marybeth C. Stalp:

Marybeth Stalp Photo

Marybeth C. Stalp is Professor of Sociology, and Department Head of Sociology, Anthropology and Criminology at the University of Northern Iowa. Her research centers on the intersection of gender, leisure, and culture, and includes US, UK, and Irish women quilters, North American handcrafters, the Red Hat Society, and women and men craftartists in the US. Stalp studies how aging women have fun throughout the life course, craftivism, and the importance of failure in crafting and the creative process, all with a focus on the maker, like in her 2007 book, Quilting: The Fabric of Everyday Life. Stalp has been a member of SWS since 1999, has previously served as Chair of the Social Action Committee, and currently serves as Chair of the Awards Committee.

Elected Committee Members:

Feminist Lecturer Committee Chair
Laura Logan:

Feminist Activist Committee Chair
Victoria Reyes (term begins in February 2019):

Sociologists for Women in Society Awards Revocation Procedure

– Procedure Effective February 27, 2019 – 


The Deadline for All SWS Awards in 2019 except for the Undergraduate Social Action Award is April 1, 2019 at 11:59 pm ET.

Esther Ngan-ling Chow and Mareyjoyce Green Dissertation Scholarship

This scholarship offers support to women scholars who are from underrepresented groups and are studying concerns that women of color face domestically and/or internationally.

Contact: Co-Chairs of the Sister to Sister Committee:

Committee Chairs: Andrea (Drea) S. Boyles and Sasha

Selection Committee: Adelle Monteblanco and Anjana Narayan

Deadline: April 1, 2019 at 11:59 pm ET

Natalie Allon Research Award*

The award, started in 2018, supports research on institutional gender-based discrimination (e.g., discrimination based on sex, gender, gender identity, sexual identity, or sexual orientation).

One awardee will receive $2,400 in 2019.

*Availability and dollar amount varies each year

Contact: Co-Chairs, Katie Acosta and Shweta Adur,

Selection Committee: Cynthia Deitch 

Deadline: April 1, 2019 at 11:59 pm ET.

Barbara Rosenblum Dissertation Scholarship for the Study of Women and Cancer

The purpose of the scholarship is to encourage doctoral research in sociology, anthropology, psychology and related fields on women’s experience of breast cancer and other reproductive cancers and the prevention of these cancers. Another goal of the scholarship is to encourage scholars to make this type of research accessible to the public through speaking and publishing for lay audiences.

Chair, Ana Porroche-Escudero: 

Deadline: April 1, 2019 at 11:59 pm ET

Beth B. Hess Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to a dissertation writing PhD student who has studied for at least one full academic year at a two-year college in the U.S., before transferring to complete a BA.

Contact: Chair, Sarah Bruch

Selection Committee: Myra Marx Ferree, Nancy Naples, Denise Copelton, and Mairead Moloney

Deadline: April 1, 2019 at 11:59 pm ET

Cheryl Allyn Miller Award

This award recognizes a sociology graduate student, or a recent doctorate, whose research or activism constitutes an outstanding contribution to the field of women and work.

Contact: Chair, Tre Wentling:

Selection Committee: Kumiko Nemoto, Mary Virnoche

Deadline: April 1, 2019 at 11:59 pm ET

Undergraduate Social Action Award

Given at the Winter meeting, this award carries on the tradition of acknowledging, affirming and inviting students to participate in SWS.

Chair of the Social Action Committee, Ruth Marleen Hernández:

Deadline: October 1, 2019 at 11:59 pm ET

Social Actions Initiative Awards

The Social Action Initiative Awards is SAC’s efforts to directly support and encourage the social activism of SWS members. Awards are given out twice per year on a competitive basis until funds are fully dispersed.  The social actions represented by this initiative are central to advancing the mission of SWS.


Chair of the Social Action Committee, Ruth Marleen Hernández

Deadlines: April 1, 2019 at 11:59 pm ET and October 1, 2019 at 11:59 pm ET

SWS Feminist Activism Award

This annual award recognizes an SWS member who has made notable contributions to improving the lives of women in society, especially through activism.

Chair, Victoria Reyes:

Selection Committee: Mindy Fried, Emmanuel David, and LaTonya Council

Deadline: April 1, 2019 at 11:59 pm ET

SWS 2019 Feminist Activism Award Winner: Amy Blackstone

Call for Applications 2018 Feminist Activism Award Winner Visit, Mindy Fried – Deadline: March 1, 2019.

SWS Feminist Lecturer Award

Founded in 1985, this lectureship was created to recognize those whose scholarship employs a feminist perspective. The goal is to make these scholars more available to campuses where such a voice is unusual and/or unwelcome.

Contact: Chair, Laura Logan:

Selection Committee: Kimberly Kelly and Shelley Eriksen

Deadline: April 1, 2019 at 11:59 pm ET

SWS Mentoring Award

This award honors an SWS member who is an outstanding feminist mentor.

Contact: Co-Chairs, Patti Giuffre: and Shelley Correll:



Deadline: April 1, 2019 at 11:59 pm ET


SWS-ASA Minority Fellows (MFP)

Deadline: January 31, 2019. Materials must be submitted online by January 31.

Please click HERE to visit the American Sociological Association Website for more information. SWS sponsors two MFPs each year who are honored at the ASA Meeting.