SWS Feminist Lecturer Award

Call for Applications for Campus Visit by 2021 SWS Distinguished Feminist Lecturer Dr. Mary Romero,

Deadline to Apply: October 1, 2024

History and Overview

The SWS Distinguished Lectureship was founded in 1985 as a way of recognizing members whose scholarship employs a feminist perspective, and of making this feminist scholar available to campuses that are isolated, rural, located away from major metropolitan areas, underfunded and without the resources needed to invite guest speakers, and/or characterized by hostility to feminist scholarship. A key goal of the program is to provide a feminist voice on campuses where such a perspective is unusual and/or unwelcome.

The lecturer will receive an award of $250 and must commit to presenting the lecture at an SWS meeting and on one campus that meet the above noted criteria. A written version of the lecture will be published in Gender & Society.

The Lectureship originally carried the name of Cheryl Allyn Miller, but now there is a separate Cheryl Allyn Miller Award.

Contact Feminist Lecturer Award Subcommittee Chair, Shobha Hamal Gurung, gurung@suu.edu 

2022 Selection Subcommittee:

  • Christobel Asiedu
  • Jill Bystydzienski
  • Margarita Levine
  • Sara Tyberg
  • Marcella Gemelli

Deadline: October 1, 2024 at 11:59 pm ET

Criteria for Selection

You must be an SWS Member to nominate and only current SWS Members will be considered for this award. Please login to the membership portal at: sws.memberclicks.net to submit your full awards application as one file.

Application Materials

  • Evidence of the nominee’s contributions to feminist scholarship
  • Evidence of the nominee’s ability to speak to a broad audience, e.g., non-academics, non-feminists, diverse publics.
  • Nomination Procedures
  • No more than 10 nomination letters should be included in the nomination packet.
  • One appropriate option is for a group of people to write one nomination letter and all sign it.
  • The candidate’s CV and all nomination letters should be submitted together in the application.
  • Nominations will be kept current for three years, after which they will be put aside for a year and brought in again if requested by the nominator. The nominators will keep the records and see to their currency. It is the nominators’ responsibility to contact the Lecturer Award Committee Chair annually to make sure the file is being considered and current.

Nominator(s) of winner and winner will be notified via email from the Executive Office.

Benefits of Award

  • Certificate (awarded at Winter Meeting Banquet)
  • $250 award
  • Winter Meeting Registration
  • Publication of lecture in Gender & Society

Expectations for Award Winner

  • Attendance at Winter Meeting to receive award
  • One campus visit during the academic year
  • Present lecture at Winter Meeting two years following the year in which award is presented (e.g., 2020 winner will give a lecture at Winter Meeting 2022)

Note: SWS pays transportation costs for the campus visit (up to $750 for domestic and up to $1500 for international) and the host campus provides room and board.

2023 Awardee: Zakiya Luna

Past Winners

  • 2023 Zakiya Luna
  • 2022 Marlese Durr
  • 2021 Mary Romero
  • 2020 Katie L. Acosta
  • 2019 SWS Feminist Lecturer Award- Angie Hattery
  • 2018 Award Not Given
  • 2017 Julia McQuillan
  • 2016 Mary Osirim
  • 2015 Shelley Correll
  • 2014 Manisha Desai
  • 2013 Chris Bose
  • 2012 Gayle Sulik
  • 2011 Christine Williams
  • 2010 Nancy Naples
  • 2009 Silver Anniversary – Paula England
  • 2008 Cecilia Ridgeway
  • 2007 Evelyn Nakano Glenn
  • 2006 Michael Messner
  • 2005 Joan Acker
  • 2004 Margaret Andersen
  • 2003 Cheryl Townsend Gilkes
  • 2002 Barbara Risman
  • 2001 Patricia Yancey Martin
  • 2000 Mary Frank Fox
  • 1998 Kathleen Gerson
  • 1997 Verta Taylor
  • 1996 Ronnie Steinberg
  • 1995 Rose Brewer, in honor of Ruth Shonle Cavan
  • 1994 Mady Segal, in honor of Helen McGill Hughes
  • 1993 Myra Marx Ferree
  • 1992 Judith Lorber
  • 1991 Francesca Cancian
  • 1990 Arlene Kaplan Daniels
  • 1989 Maxine Baca Zinn
  • 1988 Barbara Katz Rothman
  • 1987 Barbara Reskin
  • 1986 Barrie Thorne
  • 1985 Janet Chafetz

Subcommittee Chair: Kimberly Kelly

Subcommittee: Kimberly Kelly, Katie Acosta, and Morgan Matthews



Recognizing that some campuses are hostile to feminist and intersectional perspectives and/or that personal experiences and relationships could contribute to an unwelcoming environment, the SWS Awards Committee has agreed upon the following protocols to ensure safety of visiting speakers as well as their preparation before a campus visit.

  • The awardee will be advised once all applications have been received and informed of the campuses that have applied for a campus visit. 
  • In the case that the awardee is uncomfortable with visiting any of the campuses, they will inform the chair of the selection subcommittee and that campus will be removed from the application pool.
  • After the campus has been selected and before the campus visit, the Executive Officer will arrange a Zoom Meeting between the awardee, the campus nominator, and the chair of the pertinent subcommittee. The Executive Officer will attend to answer any questions about funding, travel logistics, and publicity for the event.