BLACK FEMINIST SCHOLARS 

christina-wocintechchat-com-rg1y72eKw6o-unsplash

(Photo Description: Group of Black women sitting at a conference table having a conversation with laptops; Photo Credit: Christina@wocintechchat.com)

BLACK FEMINIST SCHOLARS 

SWS centers and promotes the Black movement/resistance. The following list highlights Black feminist thoughts, work, expertise, and voices. SWS members have provided the following list of Black Scholars to center during this time of protests, attention to systemic racism, and white supremacy. 

If you would like to add to this list, please email Barret Katuna, SWS Executive Officer, at swseo.barretkatuna@outlook.com

———

List Updated on August 14, 2020 

Katie Acosta, https://sociology.gsu.edu/profile/assistant-professor/

Alishia Alexander, https://sociology.illinois.edu/directory/profile/alishia2

Michelle Alexander, https://newjimcrow.com/about-the-author

  • The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in Age of Colorblindness 

Brenda J. Allen, https://clas.ucdenver.edu/communication/brenda-j-allen-phd

Shaonta E. Allen, https://shaontathesociologist.com

Jessica Ayo Alabi, https://www.asccc.org/category/discipline/sociology

Carol Anderson, https://www.professorcarolanderson.org

  • White Rage: The Unspoken Truth of Our Racial Divide (Bloomsbury Adult, 2017)

Alexia Angton, https://soc.iastate.edu/directory/alexia-angton/

Christobel Asiedu, https://liberalarts.latech.edu/faculty-staff-directory/single-entry/name/christobel-asiedu/

Celeste Atkins, https://atkinsc.com

Regina S. Baker, http://www.reginasmallsbaker.com

Brittany Battle, https://www.brittanypbattle.com

  • The Slavery, Race, & Memory Project: Virtual Public Conversation: The Roots of Unrest: Addressing Racialized Police Violence – June 30, 2020 from 6-7:30 pm featuring Brittany Battle, Assistant Professor of Sociology at Wake Forest University

Nishaun Battle, http://www.sola.vsu.edu/departments/sociology/people/nishaun-battle.php

  • Black Girlhood, Punishment, and Resistance: Reimagining Justice for Black Girls in Virginia (Routledge, 2019) 

Jean Beamanhttps://www.soc.ucsb.edu/faculty/jean-beaman

Joyce Bell, https://sociology.uchicago.edu/directory/joyce-bell

Josephine Beoku-Betts, https://www.fau.edu/artsandletters/wgss/dr.beoku-betts/

Dereca Blackmon, https://inclusiondesign.com/who-we-are/

Andrea “Drea” S. Boyles, https://drandreasboyles.com/

Enobong (Anna) Branch, https://diversity.rutgers.edu/about/staff/enobong-anna-branch

  • Black in America: The Paradox of the Color Line (Polity 2020)
  • Pathways, Potholes, and the Persistence of Women in Science: Reconsidering the Pipeline (Lexington Books 2016)
  • Opportunity Denied: Limiting Black Women to Devalued Work (Rutgers University Press 2011) 

Mia Brantley, https://chip.sc.edu/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/Mia-Brantley-CV.pdf

Khiara Bridges, https://www.law.berkeley.edu/our-faculty/faculty-profiles/khiara-bridges/

Karida Brown, https://soc.ucla.edu/faculty/karida-l-brown

Kenly Brown, https://www.crg.berkeley.edu/grant-recipient/kenly-brown/

Shantel Buggs, https://shantelgbuggs.com

Nicole Burrowes, https://liberalarts.utexas.edu/aads/faculty/nb8544

  • Building the World We Want to See: A Herstory of Sista II Sista and the Struggle against State and Interpersonal Violence

Charlene Carruthers, https://www.charlenecarruthers.com

  • Unapologetic : A Black, Queer, and Feminist Mandate for Radical Movements (Beacon Press, 2018)

Felicia Casanova, https://sociology.as.miami.edu/_assets/pdf/felicia-cassanova-cv.pdf

Jennifer Casper, https://sociology.missouri.edu/people/casper

Marcia Chatelain,  https://gufaculty360.georgetown.edu/s/contact/00336000014RhMmAAK/marcia-chatelain

  • Franchise: The Golden Arches in Black America (Liveright, 2020) 
  • South Side Girls: Growing up in the Great Migration (Duke University Press, 2015) 

Jennifer Cobbina, https://www.jennifercobbina.com/books/

  • Hands Up, Don’t Shoot: Why the Protests in Baltimore and Ferguson Matter, and How They Changed America (NYU Press, 2019) 

Brittany Cooper, https://www.freshspeakers.com/speakers/brittney-cooper/

  • Eloquent Rage: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower (St. Martin’s Press, 2018)
  • Beyond Respectability: The Intellectual Thought of Race Women (University of Illinois Press, 2017) 

Latoya Council, https://dornsife.usc.edu/cf/soci/soci_student_display.cfm?Person_ID=1056258

Lisa Covington, https://clas.stage.drupal.uiowa.edu/sociology/people/lisa-covington

Ania Craig, http://humsci.auburn.edu/hdfs/grad/bios/a_craig.php

Kimberlé W. Crenshaw, https://www.law.columbia.edu/faculty/kimberle-w-crenshaw

  • Police brutality and police overreach/over-policing generally and the #SayHerName movement

Angela Davis, https://www.speakoutnow.org/speaker/davis-angela

Shardé M. Davis, https://comm.uconn.edu/person/sharde-m-davis/

Faith Deckard, https://liberalarts.utexas.edu/sociology/graduate/gradstudents/profile.php?id=fmd344

Zaire Dinzey Flores, https://latcar.rutgers.edu/people/core-faculty/47-zaire-dinzey-flores

Dre Domingue, https://www.davidson.edu/people/dre-domingue

  • Stephanie Y. Evans, Andrea Dominigue, and Tania D. Mitchell (eds.), Black Women and Social Justice Education: Legacies and Lessons, SUNY Press, 2019.

Dawn Dow, https://socy.umd.edu/facultyprofile/dow/dawn

  • Mothering While Black: The Boundaries and Burdens of Middle-Class Parenthood (2019, University of California Press).

Sasha Drummond-Lewis, https://www.umflint.edu/sac/faculty-and-staff

Tracy L. Dumas, https://fisher.osu.edu/people/dumas.35

Marlese Durr, https://liberal-arts.wright.edu/about/profile/marlese-durr

Stephanie Y. Evans, https://cas.gsu.edu/profile/stephanie-y-evans/

  • Stephanie Y. Evans, Andrea Dominigue, and Tania D. Mitchell (eds.), Black Women and Social Justice Education: Legacies and Lessons, SUNY Press, 2019.

Crystal Fleming,

https://www.stonybrook.edu/commcms/sociology/people/faculty/fleming.php

  • How to be Less Stupid About Race

Brittany Friedman, https://sociology.rutgers.edu/people/faculty/core-department-faculty/826-friedman-brittany-2

www.brittanyfriedman.com

Gloria Gadsden, https://www.socialmomentsjournal.com

Kelly Giles, https://www.umass.edu/sociology/users/kgiles

Carla Goar, https://www.kent.edu/node/carla-goar

Jamella Gow, https://migrationinitiative.ucsb.edu/people/jamella-gow

Debbie Griffith, http://frontdoor.valenciacollege.edu/faculty.cfm;jsessionid=A3D706245D045342D2C9D3EDA2D67476.cfusion?uid=DGriffith1&CFID=20531148&CFTOKEN=6345d8915d428e79-73020F0F-BE0F-FA96-441374889F8C8A94

Shaquilla Harrigan, https://www.soc.upenn.edu/people/shaquilla-harrigan

Cherise Harris, https://www.conncoll.edu/directories/faculty-profiles/cherise-harris/

  • The Cosby Cohort: Blessings and Burdens of Growing up Black Middle Class (Rowman & Littlefield, 2013) 

Adia Harvey Wingfield, https://sociology.wustl.edu/people/adia-harvey-wingfield

  • Flatlining: Race, Work, and Health Care in the New Economy (UC Press, 2019)

Brittany Hearne, https://fulbright.uark.edu/departments/sociology/people/index/uid/bnhearne/name/Brittany+Nicole+Hearne/

Loren Henderson, https://lorenhenderson77.wixsite.com/mycv

Marcia Hernandez, https://www.pacific.edu/academics/schools-and-colleges/college-of-the-pacific/academics/departments-and-programs/sociology/faculty-directory/marcia-hernandez.html

Jasmine D. Hill, https://www.jasmine-hill.com

Shirley Hill, https://sociology.ku.edu/shirley-hill-0

Eundria Hill-Joseph, https://www.biola.edu/directory/people/5654ddfcb38859138200004b

Patricia Hill Collins, https://socy.umd.edu/facultyprofile/collins/patricia-hill

  • Black Feminist Thought (Routledge, 2008)

Erica Hill-Yates, https://twitter.com/ericahillyates?lang=en

bell hooks, http://www.bellhooksinstitute.com

Yasimyn Irizarry, https://liberalarts.utexas.edu/aads/faculty/yi579

Christina Jackson, https://www.christinarjackson.com

  • Black in America: The Paradox of the Color Line (Polity 2020)

Adilia James, https://www.endicott.edu/academics/schools/arts-sciences/faculty/a/adilia-james

Leslie Kay Jones, https://sociology.rutgers.edu/people/faculty/core-department-faculty/968-jones-leslie-kay

Nikki Jones, https://vcresearch.berkeley.edu/faculty/nikki-jones

  • Between Good and Ghetto: African American Girls and Inner-City Violence
  • The Chosen Ones:  Black Men and the Politics of Redemption (UC Press)

Stephanie E. Jones-Rogers, https://history.berkeley.edu/stephanie-e-jones-rogers

  • They Were Her Property

Joyce Ladner, 

Charisse Levchak, https://www2.ccsu.edu/faculty/cclevchak

Krystale Littlejohn, https://www.krystalelittlejohn.com/

Nancy López, https://sociology.unm.edu/people/faculty%20profile/Nancy%20Lopez.html

Audre Lorde, https://alp.org/about/audre

Zakiya Luna, http://www.zakiyaluna.com

Sadiyah Malcolm, https://lsa.umich.edu/soc/people/current-graduate-students/sadiyah-malcolm.html

Shannon Malone Gonzalez, 

https://liberalarts.utexas.edu/sociology/graduate/gradstudents/profile.php?id=sm59889

  • Making It Home: An Intersectional Analysis of the Police Talk

Memory Manda, https://soc.unl.edu/memory-manda

Kris Marsh, https://socy.umd.edu/facultyprofile/marsh/kris

Alexis S. McCurn, https://www.csudh.edu/sociology/faculty/alexismccurn

Maretta McDonald, https://www.lsu.edu/hss/sociology/people/Graduate_Students/Graduate_Student_CVs/mcdonald_cv.pdf

Tressie McMillan Cottom, https://tressiemc.com

  • Thick: And Other Essays 

Peace Medie, http://www.bristol.ac.uk/spais/people/person/peace-medie/

Tania Mitchell, https://www.cehd.umn.edu/olpd/people/tmitchel/

  • Stephanie Y. Evans, Andrea Dominigue, and Tania D.  Mitchell (eds.), Black Women and Social Justice Education: Legacies and Lessons, SUNY Press, 2019.

Allison Monterrosa, 

https://sociology.ucr.edu/graduate-students/allison-monterrosa/

Mignon Moore, https://www.mignonmoore.com

Monique Morris, https://www.moniquewmorris.me/

Pushout: The Criminalization of Black Girls in Schools  (The New Press, 2016) 

Amaka Okechukwu, http://www.amakaokechukwu.com/main

Ijeoma Oluo, http://www.ijeomaoluo.com

Mary J. Osirim, https://www.brynmawr.edu/people/mary-j-osirim

Mary Patillo, https://www.sociology.northwestern.edu/people/faculty/core/mary-pattillo.html

Amanda Patrick, https://www.apsu.edu/sociology/sociology-faculty.php

Tracy Owens Patton, https://www.uwyo.edu/cojo/faculty/professors/tracey-patton.html

  • Patton, Tracy Owens. 2006. “Hey Girl, Am I More than My Hair?: African American Women and Their Struggles with Beauty, Body Image, and Hair.” NWSA Journal, 18(2):24-51.

Ruth Peterson, https://sociology.osu.edu/people/peterson.5

Whitney Pirtle, https://www.ucmerced.edu/content/whitney-laster-pirtle

Hillary Potterhttp://www.hillarypotter.com/

  • Intersectionality and Criminology: Disrupting and Revolutionizing Studies of Crime (Routledge, 2015) 

Kimala Price, https://womensstudies.sdsu.edu/people/bios/price.htm

Andrea Ritchie, http://invisiblenomorebook.com/about-andrea/

  • Invisible No More: Police Violence Against Black Women and Women of Color (Beacon Press, 2017)

Candice C. Robinson, https://www.candicecrobinson.com

Zandria F. Robinson, https://gufaculty360.georgetown.edu/s/contact/0031Q000025AIXeQAO/zandria-robinson

Belinda Robnett, https://www.faculty.uci.edu/profile.cfm?faculty_id=4668

Beth Richie, https://clj.uic.edu/profiles/beth-e-richie/

  • Arrested Justice: Black Women, Violence, and America’s Prison Nation

Dorothy Roberts, https://www.law.upenn.edu/cf/faculty/roberts1/

  • Killing the Black Body: Race, Reproduction and the Meaning of Liberty  (Random House/Pantheon, 1997, 1999, 2017). 

Shantee Rosado, https://www.blxstudies.org/shantee-rosado

Ashleigh Shelby Rosette, https://www.fuqua.duke.edu/faculty/ashleigh-rosette

  • Rosette, Ashleigh Shelby, and Tracy L. Dumas. 2007. “THE HAIR DILEMMA: CONFORM TO MAINSTREAM EXPECTATIONS OR EMPHASIZE RACIAL IDENTITY.” Duke Journal of Gender Law & Policy, 14:407-21.

Loretta Ross, https://www.lorettaross.com/Biography.html

Zakia Salime,  https://sociology.rutgers.edu/people/faculty/core-department-faculty/224-salime-zakia

  • Between Feminism and Islam: Human Rights and Sharia Law in Morocco (Minnesota, 2011). 

Lacee Satcher, https://cdn.vanderbilt.edu/vu-wp0/wp-content/uploads/sites/233/2019/12/17151848/LaceeSatcherCV19.pdf

Alyasah A. Sewell, http://sociology.emory.edu/home/people/faculty/sewell-alyasah.html

Fumilayo Showers, https://sociology.uconn.edu/person/fumilayo-showers-2/

Chaniqua D. Simpson, https://cdn.chass.ncsu.edu/sites/socant.chass.ncsu.edu/documents/SimpsonCV_05.17.pdf

Jennifer Patrice Sims, https://sites.google.com/uah.edu/jenniferpatricesimsphd/home 

Barbara Smith, https://barbarasmithaintgonna.com/about-barbaras-work/

  • Police brutality and police overreach/over-policing generally and the #SayHerName movement

Christen Smith, https://liberalarts.utexas.edu/anthropology/faculty/cs23775

  • Facing the Dragon: Black Mothering, Sequelae, and Gendered Necropolitics in the Americas

Dwayne Smith, http://sociology.usf.edu/faculty/dsmith/

Chriss Sneed, https://sociology.uconn.edu/person/chriss-sneed/

C. Riley Snorton, https://english.uchicago.edu/c-riley-snorton

Starr Solomon, https://www.kent.edu/sociology/starr-solomon

Kamesha Spates, https://www.kent.edu/node/kamesha-spates

Hortense Spillers, https://as.vanderbilt.edu/english/bio/hortense-spillers

Kimberly Springer, https://scholar.google.com/citations?user=S61BeAMAAAAJ&hl=en

Ashley Y. Stone, https://peerstoallies.uic.edu/ashley-y-stone/

Sabrina Strings, https://www.sociology.uci.edu/people/faculty.php 

 

 

Taura Taylor, https://sociology.gsu.edu/profile/taura-taylor/

Carieta Thomas, https://soci.ucalgary.ca/profiles/carieta-thomas

Korey Tillman, https://koreytillman.com

LaTonya J. Trotter, https://www.latonyatrotter.com

Brandy Wallace, https://sahap.umbc.edu/ftfaculty/person/zw20099/

Kelly Ward, https://www.kellymarieward.com/

Chandra Waring, https://www.uww.edu/cls/race-and-ethnic-studies/meet-our-faculty

Apryl Williams, https://aprylwilliams.com

Doris Y. Wilkinson, https://nkaa.uky.edu/nkaa/items/show/1243

France Winddance Twine, https://scholar.google.com/citations?user=oqgnCUwAAAAJ&hl=en&oi=ao

https://www.soc.ucsb.edu/faculty/france-winddance-twine

Evonnia Woods, https://sociology.missouri.edu/people/woods

Kristine Wright, https://www.lasc.edu/life-lasc/clubs/hip-hop-congress

Patrice Wright, https://sociology.as.virginia.edu/people/profile/pw5mv

Tashelle Wright, https://publichealth.ucmerced.edu/content/tashelle-wright

Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor, http://www.keeangataylor.com

  • From #BlackLivesMatter to Black Liberation (Haymarket Books, 2016)
  • How We Get Free: Black Feminism and the Combahee River Collective (Haymarket Books, 2018)  

Assata Zerai, https://sociology.illinois.edu/directory/profile/azerai