SWS is pleased to recognize many forms of outstanding feminist work. The following awards and scholarships are presented at our Awards Banquet during the Summer Meeting, held each August, with the exception of the Undergraduate Social Action Award which is presented at the Winter Meeting. 

The Awards Committee is comprised of an elected chair, two elected members (who chair the Feminist Activism and Feminist Lecturer committees), and the chairs of each other award committee, listed below.

Awards Committee Chair:

Marybeth C. Stalp:

Marybeth Stalp Photo








Marybeth C. Stalp is Professor of Sociology, and Department Head of Sociology, Anthropology and Criminology at the University of Northern Iowa. Her research centers on the intersection of gender, leisure, and culture, and includes US, UK, and Irish women quilters, North American handcrafters, the Red Hat Society, and women and men craftartists in the US. Stalp studies how aging women have fun throughout the life course, craftivism, and the importance of failure in crafting and the creative process, all with a focus on the maker, like in her 2007 book, Quilting: The Fabric of Everyday Life. Stalp has been a member of SWS since 1999, has previously served as Chair of the Social Action Committee, and currently serves as Chair of the Awards Committee.

Elected Committee Members:

Patricia Yancey Martin:
Laura Logan:


Barbara Rosenblum Dissertation Scholarship for the Study of Women and Cancer

The purpose of the scholarship is to encourage doctoral research in sociology, anthropology, psychology and related fields on women’s experience of breast cancer and other reproductive cancers and the prevention of these cancers. Another goal of the scholarship is to encourage scholars to make this type of research accessible to the public through speaking and publishing for lay audiences.


Chair, Ana Porroche-Escudero: 

Deadline: April 1, 2018

Feminist Activism Award

This annual award recognizes an SWS member who has made notable contributions to improving the lives of women in society, especially through activism.

Chair, Patricia Yancey Martin:  

Deadline for 2018 Applications: April 30, 2018

2018 Feminist Activism Award Winner: Mindy Fried

Call for Applications to Host the 2017 Awardee: Tressie McMillan Cottom

Deadline of May 1, 2018 to apply to host Tressie McMillan Cottom


Beth B. Hess Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to a dissertation writing PhD student who has studied for at least one full academic year at a two-year college in the U.S., before transferring to complete a BA.

Contact: Chair, Sarah Bruch

Selection Committee: Myra Marx Ferree, Nancy Naples, Denise Copelton, and Mairead Moloney

Deadline: April 1, 2018


Cheryl Allyn Miller Award

This award recognizes a sociology graduate student, or a recent doctorate, whose research or activism constitutes an outstanding contribution to the field of women and work.

Contact: Chair, Amy Leisenring:

Selection Committee: Yasemin Besen-Cassino, Kumiko Nemoto, and Amy Leisenring

Deadline: April 13, 2018

Feminist Lecturer Award

Founded in 1985, this lectureship was created to recognize those whose scholarship employs a feminist perspective. The goal is to make these scholars more available to campuses where such a voice is unusual and/or unwelcome.

Contact: Chair, Laura Logan:

Selection Committee: Kimberly Kelly and Shelley Eriksen

Extended Deadline: June 1, 2018

Mentoring Award

This award honors an SWS member who is an outstanding feminist mentor.

Contact: Co-Chairs, Pierrette Hondagneu-Sotelo: 
Denise Segura:

Deadline: June 1, 2018


Esther Ngan-ling and Mareyjoyce Green Dissertation Scholarship

This scholarship offers support to women scholars who are from underrepresented groups and are studying concerns that women of color face domestically and/or internationally.

Contact: Co-Chairs of the Sister to Sister Committee:

Ranita Ray and Andrea (Drea) S. Boyles:

Selection Committee: Bandana Purkayastha and Sasha R. Drummond-Lewis

Deadline: April 2, 2018


Undergraduate Social Action Award

Given at the Winter meeting, this award carries on the tradition of acknowledging, affirming and inviting students to participate in SWS.

Contact: Chair of the Social Action Committee, Kristy Kelly, 

Deadline: November 1, 2018


Social Actions Initiative Awards

The Social Action Initiative Awards is SAC’s efforts to directly support and encourage the social activism of SWS members.  Awards are given out twice per year on a competitive basis until funds are fully dispersed.  The social actions represented by this initiative are central to advancing the mission of SWS.

Contact: Chair of the Social Action Committee, Kristy Kelly, 

Deadlines: April 15, 2018 and October 1, 2018

Natalie Allon Research Award*

2018 Call for Applications

In 2018, for the first time, the SWS Committee on Discrimination and Academic Justice is welcoming research grant applications for the SWS Natalie Allon Research Award.

The award will go to support research on institutional gender-based discrimination (e.g., discrimination based on sex, gender, gender identity, sexual identity, or sexual orientation).

One awardee or research team will receive $2,000 in 2018.

*Availability and dollar amount varies each year

Contact: Co-Chairs, Katie Acosta and Shweta Adur,

Extended Deadline: June 1, 2018 at 5:00 pm PST 

SWS-ASA Minority Fellows