The Feminist Activism Award

Call for Campus Visits

Call for Nominations –  SWS Feminist Activism Award

Deadline: July 1, 2017
Committee Chair: Patricia Yancey Martin (

History and Overview

The Feminist Activism Award is presented annually to an SWS member who has notably and consistently used sociology to improve conditions for women in society. The award honors outstanding feminist advocacy efforts that embody the goal of service to women and have identifiably improved women’s lives.

The 2017 award winner will be asked to give her/his lecture at the SWS summer meeting and on two U.S. campuses during 2018-2019 academic year to share their expertise and experiences (lectures, workshops, or training sessions) of feminist activism. SWS and the host campuses are responsible for the funding of these visits. (Application guidelines for campus visits are available in a separate call.)

Criteria for Selection

  • Evidence of the nominee’s contributions to feminist activism as an SWS member who has consistently used sociology to better the lives of women.
  • Recipients can include volunteers, non-volunteers, academicians, and private/public sector employees.
  • The emphasis of this award is on advocacy and outreach efforts.

Nomination Procedures

  • One central nomination letter that provides an accounting of the nominee’s activist contributions and their impact
  • Links to websites and other documentation that describes and illustrates the nominee’s activist work and its impact (including testimonials from those benefiting from or witnessing the activism) will be useful to the committee
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae or resume
  • Not more than three additional supporting letters (quality over quantity)
  • The candidate’s CV and all nomination letters should be submitted as one pdf attachment to Patricia Yancey Martin (
  • Receipt of nomination packages will be acknowledged with a brief email.
  • Nominator(s) of winner and the winner will be notified via email and on official letterhead from the SWS Executive Office; nominator(s) of non-winners will be notified via email
  • Nominations will be kept current for three years, after which they will be put aside for a year and brought in again if requested by the nominator. The nominators will keep the records and see to their currency.  It is the nominators’ responsibility to contact the activism award committee chair annually to make sure the file is being considered and current.

Benefits of Award

  • Plaque (awarded at summer awards banquet)
  • $1000 honorarium
  • Summer meeting registration and banquet ticket
  • Up to $500 travel expenses for the summer meeting at which they present a lecture

Expectations for Award Winner

  • Attendance at Summer Awards Banquet to receive award
  • Two campus visits during the next academic year after which the award is presented (e.g., the 2017 winner will complete visits in the 2018-2019 academic year)
  • Present lecture at Summer Meeting following the year in which award is presented (e.g., 2017 winner will give lecture at summer 2018 meeting)
  • Serve on Awards committee for 2 years (e.g., the 2017 winner will participate in the selection of the 2018 and 2019 winners)


  • 2016 Kris De Welde
  • 2015 Afshan Jafar
  • 2014 Josephine Beoku-Betts
  • 2013 Margaret Abraham
  • 2012 Jeanne Flavin
  • 2011 Laura Kramer
  • 2010 Akosua Adomako Ampofo
  • 2009 Lora Bex Lempert
  • 2008 Esther Chow
  • 2007 Carroll Estes
  • 2006 Patricia Yancey Martin
  • 2005 Carole Joffee
  • 2004 Judith Auerbach
  • 2003 Patricia Ulbrich
  • 2002 Jean Peterman
  • 2001 Joan Mandle
  • 2000 Ronnie Steinberg
  • 1999 Marejoyce Green
  • 1998 Diana Pearce
  • 1997 Carla Howery & the Northeastern Illinois Group – Susan Stall, Martha Thompson, Barbara Scott
  • 1996 Roberta Spalter-Roth
  • 1995 Pauline Bart

Contact: Patricia Yancey Martin (

Deadline: July 1, 2017